#Picbod In Conversation with Ross Rawlings.

During this weeks Picbod session, our next task is to photograph those who are close to us. I feel Ross Rawlings does such a beautiful job of this, his work is full of emotion and truth as he gives us an insight into his relationships and also the time he spends by himself.

I have no Idea how I am going to approach this task, so I decided to listen/watch a talk Ross gave to Coventry University last year.

His photographs are compelling and stunning, but it seems like it had a huge impact on his relationships. Rawlings describes the camera being the third person in the relationship with Charlotte, and it got to a point where all they did was fight and take photographs. His second relationship he talks about his girlfriend Abby, and how he felt like he was repeating himself with her, creating a similar body of work, and how he didn’t want her to feel like she was in his life for the sake of the project.

I don’t feel like I want to let a camera into my relationships, I think it would be a burden, but I am also finding it really intriguing, after all, the easiest people to photograph are the ones closest to us.

Leave a Reply

