#Picbod Week 1. The Self Portrait.

The Task

“Pre-visualize and produce a self portrait [using only available light*] unrestricted in theme and technique yet still supplying a message to the viewer. You should spend time first understanding what it is you wish to convey before then looking at the composition and mechanics of the image and finally production.”

My Response.

This self portrait was taken during the twilight hour, just as the daylight was fading.
In our society we are constantly used to being stimulated, whether we’re watching TV, on our smart phones or on the Internet, how often do we make time for ourselves to totally switch off, to sit and think?

Self-portrait1

When it comes to our work, we are our own worst critics. After I had taken my portrait I wondered whether it was good enough, or if I should have another go. But after talking to Matt Johnston, he encouraged me to post it into the Google+ community. I was nervous to say the least, but decided to do it. Since putting myself out there I received really positive feedback, which boosted my confidence as an image maker. I hope to also gain skills in critiquing the work of others in this module as well as stepping out of my comfort zone.

Screen Shot 2013-01-17 at 23.14.10Screen Shot 2013-01-17 at 23.14.51 1

 

Leave a Reply

