Ballet Portraits.

I have always had a huge interest in Dance, as I am trained in Ballet, Tap and Contempoary, I thought I’d put my skills to use and learn about dance photography through my personal practice.

Instead of working in a photography studio or a dance studio, I decided to take my ballet dancer out of her usual environment and comfort zone, and took her into the woods. I found working with a dancer so much easier than my friends who I would ask to model for me, as they are trained to perform, wether it be on a stage for an audience or a camera. I was able to direct the exact dance poses to get the pictures I wanted, which I found rewarding.  I wanted Helen (my model) to act like the environment I had put her in was the stage she would perform on, and that she would often dance in the woods when nobody was watching.

Leave a Reply

